Pakistan Signs Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement

June 10, 2017 Tom Hospod

Pakistan’s Ministry of Finance has joined the Common Reporting Standard by signing on to the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement (MCAA), bringing the total number of signatories to 90 countries. As such, Pakistan will aim to begin the Automatic Exchange of Information (AEOI) for its reportable accounts in 2018.

By signing on to this agreement, Pakistan commits to the implementation of the Standard for Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information for all Financial Institutions within its jurisdiction.

The post Pakistan Signs Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement appeared first on Sovos.

About the Author

Tom Hospod

Tom Hospod is a member of the Tax Research Team for the Direct Tax division at Sovos Compliance, where his main areas of focus are Tax Withholding and Automatic Exchange of Information (AEOI). Prior to Sovos, Tom worked as a legislative aide in the Massachusetts House of Representatives. He also has experience in securities law—focusing on broker-dealer disputes and representing clients in FINRA arbitration. Tom is a member of the Massachusetts Bar, earned his B.A. from Boston College and his J.D. from the University of Miami.

More Content by Tom Hospod
Previous Article
Cyprus Opens Data Transmission Portal and Releases FATCA Specifications

The Cypriot Ministry of Finance has announced that its Government Internet Security Channel is now open for...

Next Article
Curacao FATCA Testing Period Opens Late, Deadline to Be Delayed

The Curacao Financial Data Exchange Portal is now open for the FATCA XML file testing period. The testing p...


Regulatory Analysis News - Delivered Weekly

Thank you for subscribing!
Error - something went wrong!