New Jersey Health Insurance Individual Mandate Becomes Law

June 1, 2018 Tom Hospod

The Governor of New Jersey just signed the first (in the wake of the federal ACA individual mandate repeal) state individual mandate into law. It will become effective January 1, 2019, so there will be no gap between the expiration of the federal individual mandate and the enforcement of the NJ individual mandate. According to the bill, the information to be reported will be the same info as was required under the federal individual mandate. New Jersey has yet to publish any forms for this purpose. The penalty for failing to comply with this mandate will be the greater of 2.5% of income or $695 per uninsured adult and $347 per uninsured child.

About the Author

Tom Hospod

Tom Hospod is a member of the Tax Research Team for the Direct Tax division at Sovos Compliance, where his main areas of focus are Tax Withholding and Automatic Exchange of Information (AEOI). Prior to Sovos, Tom worked as a legislative aide in the Massachusetts House of Representatives. He also has experience in securities law—focusing on broker-dealer disputes and representing clients in FINRA arbitration. Tom is a member of the Massachusetts Bar, earned his B.A. from Boston College and his J.D. from the University of Miami.

More Content by Tom Hospod
Previous Article
IRS Releases New Proposed Rule Regarding Electronic Reporting of Information Returns

The IRS has released Proposed Rule REG-102951 containing the proposed regulations amending the rules for de...

Next Article
California Revises 2018 Employer’s Guide

The California Employer Development Department (EDD) has revised Publication DE-44, its 2018 Employer’s Guide


Regulatory Analysis News - Delivered Weekly

Thank you for subscribing!
Error - something went wrong!